A fresh new blog

Hello and welcome to my new blog for my figurative work! As you might have read in the “About me” section, I’ve spent most of my working/schooling life making illustrations. At some point, I decided well, fudge biscuits, I really want to get this whole painting and drawing shit sorted. So I joined the Florence academy of Art in Florence, Italy. It’s been a hell of a ride so far, and it feels as though time flows differently here. What I could have spent years trying to figure out on my own, I’ve learned in 2 with the help of fantastic teachers and studio mates. And it’s slightly terrifying realizing that all I’ve learnt has merely come up in the area of “The Basics”. Then again, one could always say that we’re really only learning “The Basics” for the rest of our lives, and we’re running out of time. And that’s why Elvish art is the best. (damn you guys and your long lives)

Anyway, I’ll keep updating this space with more work as I go along, and will probably put up some process shots eventually too.

(Check out my illustration and animation work if you’re curious about the stuff I used to do – http://www.thebitbin.com)

So for this first post, here’s a new self portrait, and the latest figure painting.

I don't want to be buried in a Pet Semetary

“I don’t want to be buried in a pet sematary”

Oil on canvas

 

Self Portrait I

 

“Self portrait I”

Oil on canvas

Leave a Reply

